NaNoWriMo – I need help!

Yesterday was the halfway point of the month and while I’m not halfway to my 50K goal yet I am so much closer to it than I was two weeks ago.  Currently I have almost 13K words.  I’m having all the usual issues with making time to write… there’s that life thing.  The “sick”  count for the month is son 2, husband 1, and I’m still waiting for the laundry and kitchen fairies to show up and take care of those chores.  And if someone could figure out how to lock my TV so it won’t turn on until my writing is done for the day, I’d pay good money for that gadget!

Then there’s the weather thing.  The November Nor’easter as they are calling it made a mess of everything last week, including a 15 hour power outage.  Ever since we rode out hurricane Isabel I have a very hard time focusing on much of anything except the trees on a windy day.  Usually I make a point of getting out of the house (the wind only bothers me at home) but the rain was so awful, my couple of forays out ended quickly.  The day job must be attended — fortunately it’s part-time.  The critiquing biz is going gang busters (and I’m loving it!).  And my writing buddy who provides an external check on my wandering and procrastinating by meeting up with me several times a week to write, has the audacity to leave town for part of this week.

So, with all that going on I’m in need of some concrete ideas for keeping myself focused on the task at hand (that would be writing 50K words this month). 

The best one, so far, is to arrange to write with someone else outside of my house.  I have a hard time dragging myself out when I don’t have anyone to meet, and then it’s waaay too easy to procrastinate or find other, easier things to do (like write a blog post!).  Other than that I’m at a loss.

Do you have any tips or tricks for keeping butt in chair and fingers on the keyboard?  I’d love to hear them!  I can use all the help I can get!

Laurin

One Response

  1. Not really a comment…just want to connect with you. Okay, kinda like a commment…lol.

    JFYI…and, HAPPY NEW YEAR!

    Jo-Anne,
    Thanks for visiting my blog! I’ve already added your blog link to my blog roll. I’d love to be included in yours. http://www.laurinwittig.wordpress.com
    Cheers!
    Laurin

    Hi Laurin;
    You’re more than welcome…if you’d like an awesome (if I don’t say-so-myself…lol) resource book with even more valuable tips for writers, you can upload the entire eBook for under $10. The physical book “Premium Promotional Tips for Writers” is now available anywhere online.

    Here’s the ebook link: http://bit.ly/84N7dj
    Physical resource book: http://vandermeulen.laurusbooks.com/

    Many endorsements from fellow-writers (like you) are listed and publically displayed for others to read. Check it out…you may be there.

    Thank you for your business…a win-win…spread the word…:).

    Many blessings and have a Happy New Year!

    Author Jo-Anne Vandermeulen
    “Premium Promotional Tips for Writers”
    http://vandermeulen.laurusbooks.com/

    Jo-Anne Vandermeulen
    Owner and Marketeer of
    *Premium Promotional Services*
    http://www.premiumpromotions.biz

Leave a Reply

