Do you NaNo?

Do you NaNo?  I suppose I should really ask, do you participate in this crazy enterprise called National Novel Writing Month

I had heard about it for a number of years and in  a moment of extreme dementia last year, I signed up to write 50K words in one month.  And not just any month.  November! 

Now, for me, this is not only the month of Thanksgiving and crazed Christmas shopping, it’s also the month where we celebrate our son’s birthday, darling daughter comes home from college for a whirlwind visit, and we travel down to my parents’ home for the holiday.

Could they have picked a worse month?  Okay, December would probably be worse, but (to quote Gray’s Anatomy) seriously.  Seriously?  November? 

Amazingly I completely a first draft in that frenzied month.  Granted it was only about 30K, not the target 50K and my books usually come in around 100K, but that was a respectable first draft for me.  And I wrote it in 30 days.

Have I mentioned that I’m a really slow writer?

I have not finished that novel, in the sense that it has not been sent off to my agent, but in the course of six months it went from a glimmer of an idea to a third draft.  It’s now sitting on my file cabinet at about 300 pages.  It still isn’t ready for the light of day, and honestly, I’m not sure what to do with it, so I’m employing that age old technique of letting it sit.

But I wrote the first draft in 30 days… in November.

Are you up for the challenge?  I am.  I’m taking the plunge once again.  Honestly, it was exhilerating and I discovered that even in my small town there is a strong contingent of NaNoWriMo die hards.  I made a new writing friend last year.  I proved to myself that I could write fast when given the proper encouragement.  And I love the little widget on my NaNo home page that I can update every day and watch the little blue line reach for the 50K mark.

So, why don’t you join me in this writerly madness?  Go to the National Novel Writing Month site and get set up as an author — did I mention that it’s free? — then set me up as your friend – LaurinW – and we’ll egg each other on to that 50K finish line.

Laurin

One Response

  1. Laurin,
    I’ve never done NaNoWriMo, but am very interested in it. Obviously we’re already into November so it’s too late for me this year, but I’d love to do it next year. I need all the friends I can get to egg me on to the 50K finish line!

    Christine Trent

Leave a Reply

